Sunday, October 1th, 2023

Happy October the 1th from Occoquan, Virginia.  Home of Occoquan Harbor Marina.  Motto: “You wanna boat?  We gotta boat.”

Yesterday was fun.  I drove the rig from brother Kim’s Hobo Palace Campsite up to Occoquan, and to the marina.  When I asked where I should park, I found that the owner had actually installed a 50-amp circuit just for my brother to use when he drove his rig to visit.  So, I slipped my rig into the clandestine, private, nobody else knows about, Del Monte only, RV parking spot.  Now that was cool!

The marina was holding an open house for all the boat owners and slip holder clients, and once again I rode my brother’s coat tails into the invitation only event.  Ms. Shawn was delivered to the marina by her brother, and I sweet talked the nice lady with the invitees-only check-in list into letting them ride my coat tails into the event. So, we ate good food, and hobbed with a whole bunch of really nice nobs and had a great time.

After the open house we stayed overnight right where we were parked and this morning, we Uber’d to the downtown area of the swirling, swinging, metropolis of Old Town Occoquan. All six blocks of it.

OK.  That’s not fair.  Yes, it is a small town, but it is an extremely cute small town.  They’ve done a wonderful job of retaining the original mid-1800’s architecture and making sure the restores and new buildings fit the flavor of the town.  Lots of neat restaurants and shops also.  Then we went back to the marina and moved the rig to Pohick Bay Park & Campground.

Tomorrow we are going to drive the rig up to Georgie Washington’s house at Mount Vernon.  It’s only about a half-hour up the road and the website says they have RV parking.  We signed up for access to the grounds, and for a tour of the house, and we did all that IN SPITE of the website, rather than because of it.  Translation:  Their website sucks rocks.

And by the way all my brothers, do you remember when it was one of our favorite motorcycle rides to go from Arlington to Mt. Vernon where we got in and parked FOR FREE, and tours of the house WERE FREE?!?!  Ha!  Those days are over!  Now it’s bend over and pay thru the nose.  Oh yeah, did I mention that their website sucks rocks?

Anyway, Pohick Bay RV Park is very nice, and beautifully wooded, and a great place for families to take the kidees camping, but they only had electric-only slots (no water, no sewer) available for us big guys so we are going to move on down the road tomorrow (about four hours’ worth) after seeing George and Marth’s place, where, by the way, the website sucks rocks.

That’s about it for now.  I’m hoping that when we get away from the congested east coast, I will be able to breathe again and maybe I will be able to relax a bit.  Right now, I’m wound about as tight as a watch spring and not a lot of fun to be around.  Hmmmm, I wonder how many of my readers know what a watch spring is?  Or a watch?  I feel old.

Later,

Rusty Pistons.

 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog