Thursday, October 05th, 2023.  So, how’d she do dat?  DID she do dat?

Interesting question in the header.

The “she” is a very nasty lady sitting in her car, looking at/working with what appeared to be an iPhone, in the gas lane at a Buc-ees Gas station and blocking me in.  When asked if she would move to another parking spot she snappily (as in not nice) replied, “I’ll move when I move!”

I said, “Yes Ma’am,” and walked over to the entrance of the store and asked for a security type employee.  But by the time he arrived she had moved, so the situation was over.

Or so I thought . . .

A few minutes ago, I got an email asking me if I had ‘attempted’ to buy $xxx.xx worth of gas (correct dollar amount) at Buccees (misspelled) on October 3rd, and if so to “click here” to clear up the yadda-yadda-yadda, with several capitalization errors, and words misspelled. 

So, the question(s) are:

1.    Was there a skimmer on the pump?

2.    Did the nasty lady have some type of blue-tooth device that caught my credit card info?

3.    Did she come back after I pulled out to see the amount on the pump.  Does the amount even stay visible after the transaction?

4.    Did she copy down my license number and find me that way?

5.    Did she go inside and ask for a receipt for the transaction as if it hadn’t printed or was unreadable?

6.    Am I waaaaay too paranoid?

Problems:

1.    I threw away the receipt once I had entered the info into my logbook.  (Trying to cut down on paper clutter.)

2.    I deleted the email as soon as I read it for the similar reason (less email clutter) before I put together the mental link from it to her.

So, there’s no solution.  No answers.  No action to take.

I COULD call Buc-ees and tell them this strange story and recommend they watch out for a lady matching her description in a small red car.  Yup, I could.  And I’m just sooooo sure that would go over big-time, and they’d just jump at the chance to send some poor employee out there to watch for her.  Yup.  I could.  But I won’t.

As I said above:  No solution.  No answers.  No action to take.

Anyhoo, on a lighter note, we are in a KOA (the McDonalds of RV Camps. “Not great but OK and consistent.”)  And now, it’s drizzling a light rain, and we just had a great dinner of pasta with marinara sauce, toast, and a nice salad.  Coffee and banana bread coming up for dessert.  And a nice movie after.

Not bad.

See you later on the flip side . . . .  Rusty Pistons.

 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog