Wednesday, October 4th, 2023 – And the
déjà vu continues . . .
We left Hungry Momma Park a tad bit late this
morning and struck out for the west. But
Mr. Peanut has been scooting a bit and we found the one and only Vet shop in
Marion and they were open and said to come on down! Wow! I
told the nice lady on the phone that we were in an RV, and she said, “That’s no
problem.”
It was a problem.
I failed to mention the “RV” was 30 feet long
with a 20’ trailer, and she failed to mention their driveway was 75 feet long, and
up a 45-degree slope, to a 5-car, no turn around parking area. As the warden in “Cool Hand Luke” said, “What
we have here is a failure to communicate.”
So, when the BIB said, “Turn right”, I looked up
and said no %$#^ way. At that point my only recourse, since we
were on RT-11, which is a four-lane highway, was to pull in across the entrance
to the driveway completely blocking it, set the four-way blinkers, and hoof it
up the hill, with The Peanut in my arms.
At the top I met a really nice young couple, in
their car, getting ready to leave, and I had to explain that I had them blocked
in. They were very nice about it! Said, “Go ahead and get your dog looked
after. We’ll wait. Wow!
Nice folks.
The good news was that Peanut-Butter was fine,
and the vet-lady, wanting to get her driveway unblocked as quickly as possible,
shooed me out of her office at no charge for looking at the Nutter-Butter. Another nice folk!
Leaving the vet we went west in search of
Interstate 81 which was an interesting experience all by itself as they had
moved it (I think) while we were looking for the vet. But we finally found it, hidden right behind
the second “To I-81è” sign we missed.
So, leaving late, and meeting all those fine
folks put us on the west-bound a tad bit late and we decided to go no farther
than Knoxville. The problem there was
that there was another of those D&#$#@ motorcycle rallies going on in
“The Knox” and all the RV Parks were full.
So, I got on the horn and found a nice sounding RV park here in Herriman,
which is the Caney Creek RV Park.
And here is where the old déjà vu sticks up its
ugly head again! I stayed here on the
way east! And in the same spot!
I recognized the park entrance by the self-closing-guillotine
style-murdercide-don’t stop halfway gate, and then I recognized the assigned spot
by its proximity to the (really nice) pool, game room house, and the wooded
area where I threw sticks for SuSu.
Weird! No plan, just co-inkydink,
serandipidy-do. BTW: You’d think their
confuser system would have flagged me as a returning customer, but it didn’t
‘cause I got no bells and whistles when I called or walked in. Nothin’.
Not even a “Hi! Welcome back.”
But I gotta admit it’s a very expensive, and very
nice RV Park, and the laundry facility is just a stones toss walk from the rig,
so that’s what I am doing right now, blogging while the laundry launders.
Oh, by the way!
For all of you healthy no-meat-veggie eaters out there, today I saw Ms.
Shawn put a big slice of pig-based bacon on a plant-based hamburger. Ha, ha, ho, ho! Be sure to bring that up with her the next time
you see her. For the rest of her life.
That’s all.
Later, on the flip!
Comments
Post a Comment