08-27-2013  Sunday. Day 4.

Somewhere in Texas.  East of Abilene, but not quite to "Cisco" which was my objective, but which became secondary to survival when I ran into rain that looked like it was going to get worse but after I stopped at the Sundance RV Park it got better and now it's sunny as all get out and I'm about 30 miles short of my goal.

Last night I did some on-line research into why the rig's generator would run and then stop.  Seems the exhaust system is really important so this morning I crawled under the rig and took a look.  Well, I'm pretty sure that when this rig left the factory in 2014 it had four bolts holding the exhaust pipe to the exhaust manifold but this morning it only had one and that one was loose.  And the manifold gasket was hanging out the side.  This struck me as a thought, "Maybe that's not right!"  So, I pushed the gasket back into place and put three additional bolts into the flanges and congratulated myself on fixing the genny's run/stop problem.

Not so fast Kimo-Sabe!  Same problem.  Actually worse.  Now the gen won't start at all.  Just grinds and won't catch.  Still may be the fuel pump?   Dunno.  Plan is to look for the nearest RV supply store and try to buy a new pump.  Maybe even have them install it.  In any case have them try to fix the Genny.

Good news is it's a bit cooler and the Ford dash A/C is blowing cold.  I'm surviving but the dogs are looking daggers at me.  When I woke up this morning Peanut was looking at my throat.  Other good news is he's fourteen and has no teeth, so, so far so good.

This RV Park is a working man's camp.  Lots of big pick-up trucks and very small campers permanently parked.  Most probably oil field workers, but that's just a guess.  No socializing.  They park big truck and go into campers.  Not even a "Howdy!"  I'm the only self-contained rig in the park.  Maybe my rig's internet hot spot's name of "DEA Fast Response Van" is off-putting. Who knows?"  Anyway, if they can't take a joke . . . .

I'm going to publish this now just to see if the "Security Problem" is fixed.  Someone text me a yes or no.

Frank



Comments

Popular posts from this blog